Search for a fallen Law Enforcement Hero.


News Releases

U.S. House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer of Maryland Presented 2008 Distinguised Service Award by the NLEOMF

Recognized for his legislative record of support for law enforcement

May 12, 2008

Washington, DC — Steny Hoyer, the United States House Majority Leader and a long-time champion of law enforcement, has been named the recipient of the 2008 Distinguished Service Award from the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund (NLEOMF). Majority Leader Hoyer is the 13th recipient of the prestigious award, which recognizes individuals or organizations that have made an exceptional and lasting contribution to the law enforcement profession.

A life-long public servant, Congressman Hoyer has represented Maryland's 5th Congressional District since 1981, making him the longest serving House member in the state's history. During that time, he has spearheaded a number of crime-fighting initiatives that have helped to lower crime rates and enhance officer safety. These have included the High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (HIDTA) program, Gang Resistance Education and Training (GREAT) and the Youth Gun Crime Interdiction Initiative.

His advocacy of the Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS) initiative helped to put tens of thousands of new law enforcement officers on the streets of the United States, along with cutting-edge equipment and technology that are helping to make officers safer.

"Through his service in Congress, Steny Hoyer has been a staunch ally of law enforcement and a great supporter of the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund and our mission to honor the service and sacrifice of America's law enforcement professionals," said Craig W. Floyd, chairman and CEO of the NLEOMF. "We are especially grateful for his leadership in securing the issuance of 140,000 commemorative coins honoring our fallen heroes and his steadfast support of the National Law Enforcement Museum," Mr. Floyd added.

The commemorative coin initiative raised $1.4 million for the long-term maintenance of the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial, which contains the names of 18,274 officers who have died in the line of duty throughout U.S. history, including 263 from the state of Maryland.

"Our nation's law enforcement officers are the everyday heroes on whom we rely to ensure the protection of our citizens, the safety of our neighborhoods and order in our society," stated Majority Leader Hoyer. "I have been proud to serve as a champion in Congress of policies that enable our law enforcement professionals to do their jobs safely and effectively and to appropriately honor those who have made the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty. It is with great honor and appreciation that I accept this Distinguished Service Award from those that serve this nation with distinction every day."

Congressman Hoyer was first elected to the Maryland Senate at the age of 27 and became Senate President at age 35, the youngest ever in state history. As a member of Congress, he has built an outstanding record of achievement in such areas as public safety, voting and disability rights, and support for federal employees, and he has earned a reputation as a strong leader, a skilled legislator and a committed consensus builder.

Majority Leader Hoyer joins an impressive list of past recipients of the NLEOMF's Distinguished Service Award:

1996: U.S. Senator Claiborne Pell
1997: Jack Krol, Chairman, DuPont
1998: U.S. Representative Mario (Ret.)
1999: John Walsh, host of "America's Most Wanted"
2000: U.S. Attorney General Janet Reno
2001: U.S. Mint Police
2002: President George H.W. Bush
2003: Police Unity Tour
2004: U.S. Senator Ben Nighthorse Campbell
2005: Motorola
2006: President Bill Clinton
2007: Cynthia Brown, publisher of "American Police Beat"


Contact: Kevin Morison
202-737-7134 -