Search for a fallen Law Enforcement Hero.


News Releases

Attorney General Janet Reno Receives NLEOMF Distinguished Service Award

Recognized for long-time support of law enforcement and America's fallen officers

July 7, 2000

Janet Reno receives NLEOMF award from Craig Floyd.

Washington, DC — The National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund (NLEOMF) recently presented its top annual award, the 2000 Distinguished Service Award, to Attorney General Janet Reno, the nation's chief law enforcement official, for a lifetime of achievements and for her unwavering support of the Memorial and the men and women it honors.
The award was presented in Washington, DC, at the Memorial Fund's 12th Annual Candlelight Vigil on May 13. More than 13,000 survivors of officers killed in the line of duty, members of the law enforcement community and police supporters attended this special event. The award is given annually to an individual or organization who has made a lasting and exceptional contribution to the law enforcement profession and to the Memorial cause. According to Memorial Chairman Craig W. Floyd, the Attorney General was this year's unanimous selection due in part to her efforts for more effective and safer law enforcement. As testament to the respect and concern she has for law enforcement and the survivors of officers killed in the line of duty, Mr. Floyd noted that the Attorney General has never missed a Memorial Candlelight Vigil.

In presenting the award to the Attorney General, Mr. Floyd said, "Her record of achievement during her eight years in office has simply been outstanding. Law enforcement has no stronger advocate, and the survivors of the fallen have no better friend. Thanks in very large measure to her effective leadership, our nation's crime rate has declined each and every year she has served as Attorney General. America is safer today than at any time during the past 25 years."

In accepting the award, the Attorney General stated, "This is one of the highest honors I could receive and I am proud to accept this award in the name of the people who are on the front lines for America." This is only the fifth time the Memorial Fund has presented the Distinguished Service Award. Other past winners of the award have included: U.S. Senator Claiborne Pell (Ret.); Jack Krol, former chief executive officer of the DuPont Company; U.S. Rep. Mario (Ret.); and John Walsh, host of the "America's Most Wanted" television show.

The Memorial's annual Candlelight Vigil pays special tribute to those officers who have given their lives in the line of duty, and honors the 740,000 federal state and local officers who continue to serve our nation. The names of 280 officers who died in the line of duty were officially added to the Memorial during this ceremony that marked the beginning of the 2000 National Police Week.

Learn more about the NLEOMF Distinguished Service Award.

Contact: Kevin Morison
202-737-7134 -