Search for a fallen Law Enforcement Hero.


News Releases

Cynthia Brown, American Police Beat Publisher, Receives NLEOMF Distinguished Service Award

Cited for telling real stories of law enforcement, supporting National Law Enforcement Museum

May 12, 2007

Washington, DC — The publisher of one of the country's most influential magazines for law enforcement professionals has received the 2007 Distinguished Service Award from the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund. Cynthia Brown, who has published American Police Beat for the past 13 years, is the 12th recipient of the prestigious award, which recognizes individuals or organizations that have made an exceptional and lasting contribution to the law enforcement profession.

Ms. Brown was honored not only for creating a magazine that tells the real stories of law enforcement in America and allows professionals to learn from one another about the unique challenges facing law enforcement. She was also acknowledged for supporting the NLEOMF's efforts to recognize the service and sacrifice of America's law enforcement officers by building the first-ever National Law Enforcement Museum.

"Cynthia Brown has helped to make law enforcement in America more knowledgeable, more strategic and more effective by reporting on the critical issues of the day and by highlighting the dedicated and heroic service of law enforcement officers nationwide," said Craig W. Floyd, Chairman and CEO of the NLEOMF. "She has also become one of the most tireless and creative supporters of our efforts to tell the incredible story of American law enforcement through the National Law Enforcement Museum."

As a member of the Museum Advisory Committee, Ms. Brown has helped to develop the Museum's content and programs. Through her reporting, she has sought to raise public awareness of the Museum and bolster the $80 million fundraising campaign, called "A Matter of Honor." For the past three years, she has organized and hosted a reception at the International Association of Chiefs of Police annual conference to benefit the Museum campaign. Her efforts have raised $220,000 to date, with another reception planned for the IACP conference this October in New Orleans.

Ms. Brown's inspiration for American Police Beat dates to the early 1970's when she was working in a pioneering community policing program in Boston. Her boss at the time was Bill Bratton, a young lieutenant in his 20's who today is chief of the Los Angeles Police Department. It was during those years that she saw first hand the stories of officer bravery, courage and sacrifice that were largely ignored by the news media. American Police Beat, she hoped, would get those stories told and help set the record straight.

"From the very first issue of American Police Beat, Cynthia has been an astute observer and ardent supporter of the law enforcement profession in general and the work of the NLEOMF specifically," said Mr. Floyd. Each month, she provides the NLEOMF Chairman with space for a feature article exploring different aspects of the service and sacrifice of law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty.

Ms. Brown's work for the law enforcement profession goes beyond the printed page. Eight years ago, she began running a three-day program at the Harvard Law School for the presidents of the police unions of the 50 largest cities in the United States. When it became apparent that Hurricanes Katrina and Rita were going to present major problems for tens of thousands of individual law enforcement officers, Brown teamed up with Sheriff Mike Brown of the Bedford County (VA) Sheriff's Office. Together, they raised more than $4 million in cash and equipment for local police and sheriff's departments that had been devastated by the hurricanes.

Ms. Brown joins an impressive list of past recipients of the NLEOMF's Distinguished Service Award, including former Presidents, an Attorney General, members of Congress, and leaders in the private sector. Following are the past winners of the award:

1996: U.S. Senator Claiborne Pell
1997: Jack Krol, Chairman, DuPont
1998: U.S. Representative Mario (Ret.)
1999: John Walsh, host of "America's Most Wanted"
2000: U.S. Attorney General Janet Reno
2001: U.S. Mint Police
2002: President George H.W. Bush
2003: Police Unity Tour
2004: U.S. Senator Ben Nighthorse Campbell
2005: Motorola
2006: President Bill Clinton

Learn more about the NLEOMF Distinguished Service Award.

Contact: Kevin Morison
202-737-7134 -