Search for a fallen Law Enforcement Hero.


The Distinguished Service Award is the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund's top award. It is presented annually to "an individual or organization who has made an exceptional and lasting contribution to the law enforcement profession."

Read More About the Distinguished Service Award Recipients

2016: Harley-Davidson

2015: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)

2014: President George W. Bush

2013: National Park Service and United States Park Police

2012: Director Robert S. Mueller, III

2011: Dick Wolf

2010: Target

2009: Vice President Joe Biden

2008: Congressman Steny Hoyer, House Majority Leader

2007: Cynthia Brown, American Police Beat Publisher

2006: President Bill Clinton

2005: Motorola

2004: Senator Ben Nighthorse Campbell

2003: Police Unity Tour

2002: President George H.W. Bush

2001: United States Mint Police

2000: U.S. Attorney General Janet Reno

1999: John Walsh, Host of America's Most Wanted

1998: Congressman (ret.) Mario Biaggi, Founder of the Memorial Fund

1997: The DuPont Company

1996: Senator Claiborne Pell, Honorary Chairman of the Memorial Fund


How Award Recipients are Selected

Each year, the Memorial Fund's Strategic Planning Committee, a body of the Board of Directors, develops and reviews nominations for the Distinguished Service Award. The committee forwards a recommendation to the full Board of Directors. The Memorial Fund Board then votes on the award recipient.