Search for a fallen Law Enforcement Hero.


The National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to a deserving individual or organization that has taken a long-term leadership role in helping the Memorial Fund in its work to honor the service and sacrifice of the law enforcement profession.

The recipient of this award is recognized for making extraordinary contributions to the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund and/or the National Law Enforcement Museum through a body of work that have positively impacted the law enforcement community over his or her lifetime.

2016 Award Recipient

Charles H. Ramsey

Charles H. Ramsey retired from Police Commissioner of the Philadelphia Police Department in January 2016. He lead the fourth largest police department in the nation with over 6,500 sworn members and 830 civilian members. Commissioner Ramsey brings over forty years of knowledge, experience and service in advancing the law enforcement profession in three different major city police departments, beginning with Chicago, then Washington, DC, and Philadelphia.

Commissioner Ramsey has been at the forefront of developing innovative policing strategies and leading organizational change for the past 23 years. He is an internationally-recognized practitioner and educator in his field, and served as President of both the Police Executive Research Forum and Major Cities Chiefs, the only law enforcement professional to hold both of these prominent positions at the same time.

Read More About the Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

2015: Kenneth W. "Kip" Brunk and Michael Muth

2014: Karen Tandy and David S. Weisz

2013: Dr. Marcella Fierro

2012: George W. "Sandy" Mayo

2011: COPS Founding Executive Director Susie Sawyer

2011: IACP Executive Director Dan Rosenblatt

2011: United Federation of Police Executive Vice President Bob Gordon